Joyce Theater

The Martha Graham Dance Company returns to The Joyce as “spellbinding and prescient as ever” (The New York Times), with Graham classics framed by an incredible array of new works. The Company performs world premieres by Baye & Asa and Annie Rigney, alongside Hofesh Shechter’s high-energy CAVE. A new generation of choreographers re-envisions Graham's innovations in the mesmerizing Canticle for Innocent Comedians from lead choreographer Sonya Tayeh with Yue Yin, Jenn Freeman, Micaela Taylor, Juliano Nunes, Alleyne Dance, and Robert Cohan, all performed to the heralded new score by jazz great Jason Moran. With their stunning mid-century sets by Isamu Noguchi, Graham’s masterworks Cave of the Heart and Embattled Garden return to the stage. Her earliest comedy, Every Soul is a Circus, and her compelling modernist ritual, Dark Meadow Suite, round out the programming.

Curtain Chat with Neil Baldwin: Wed, Apr 19

Special Gala Performance: Thu, Apr 20 at 7pm

University Partner Showcase: Sat, Apr 22 at 2pm

Family Matinee: Sun, Apr 30 at 2pm

Programs

Program A
Tuesday, April 18 at 7:30pm
Friday, April 21 at 8:00pm
Sunday, April 23 at 2:00pm
Wednesday, April 26 at 7:30pm

Dark Meadow Suite - Martha Graham
New Work - Annie Rigney
New Work - Baye & Asa
Cave of the Heart - Martha Graham
 

Program B
Wednesday, April 19 at 7:30pm
Sunday, April 23 at 7:30pm
Thursday, April 27 at 8pm
Saturday, April 29 at 2:00PM

Embattled Garden - Martha Graham
New Work - Baye & Asa
Canticle for Innocent Comedians - Sonya Tayeh with Alleyne Dance, Sir Robert Cohan, Jenn Freeman, Martha Graham, Juliano Nunes, Micaela Taylor, and Yue Yin


Program C
Saturday, April 29 at 8:00pm

Embattled Garden - Martha Graham
New Work - Baye & Asa
CAVE - Hofesh Shechter


Program D
Saturday, April 22 at 8:00pm
Tuesday, April 25 at 7:30pm
Friday, April 28 at 8:00pm
Sunday, April 30 at 7:30pmEvery Soul is a Circus - Martha Graham
New Work - Annie Rigney
CAVE - Hofesh Shechter

 

Program E - Family Matinee
Sunday, April 30 at 2:00pm

All-City Panorama - Martha Graham
Every Soul is a Circus - Martha Graham
Canticle for Innocent Comedians - Sonya Tayeh with Alleyne Dance,Sir Robert Cohan, Jenn Freeman, Martha Graham, Juliano Nunes, Micaela Taylor, and Yue Yin

 

Gala Program
Thursday, April 20th at 7:00pm

Panorama - Martha Graham
New Work - Baye and Asa
Embattled Garden - Martha Graham

 

University Partners Showcase
Saturday, April 22 at 2:00pm
 

Health & Safety Protocols

The Joyce Theater has lifted vaccination requirements. Masks will continue to be required at all times for visitors inside the theater, including performances. Click here for our full health & safety protocols.

Ticket Prices

Tickets start at $10!

Call JoyceCharge at 212-242-0800 for $10 tickets. All other tickets can be purchased online.

April 18—30 The Joyce in Chelsea

Martha Graham Dance Company

Select Date

M T W TH F S Su

Tickets