Joyce Theater

Serious dance becomes seriously fun with this season's family-oriented series.  The Joyce invites young audiences and grown-ups to experience renowned companies together and to enjoy a special opportunity to meet the artists following the performance.

One of The Joyce Theater’s most popular offerings, these matinees—featuring family-friendly performances followed by special opportunities to meet the artists—are designed to create exciting overtures to dance.  

Tickets are $10 for kids, and if they see three or more family matinees available in a particular season, they automatically become Joyce Junior Members and save 40% on the price of their tickets — $10 reduced to $6. Kids (ages 6-14) must be accompanied by an adult. To purchase tickets for our Family Matinees, please visit our box office in person or call 212-242-0800.

Here is a list of Family Matinees:

Spring/Summer '20 Season:

  1. Sun, Feb 23 at 2pm - Compagnie Hervé KOUBI
  2. Sat, Feb 29 at 2pm - Ronald K. Brown/EVIDENCE
  3. Sat, May 23 at 2pm - Parsons Dance
  4. Sat, Jun 13 at 2pm - Flamenco Vivo Carlota Santana
  5. Sat, Jun 20 at 2pm - Paul Taylor Dance Company
  6. Sat, Jul 11 at 2pm - MOMIX: ALICE

Fall '19/Winter '20 Season:

  1. Sun, Sep 29 - Ayodele Casel + Arturo O'Farrill
  2. Sat, Oct 5 - BalletX The Little Prince 
  3. Sun, Nov 3 - Black Grace
  4. Sat, Dec 7 - And Still You Must Swing
  5. Sat, Dec 28 - Dorrance Dance
  6. Sat, Jan 25 - COMPLEXIONS Contemporary Ballet
  7. Sat, Feb 15 - Che Malambo

The Family Matinee series is sponsored by Stanton Public Relations & Marketing.

Stanton

Special support for The Joyce’s Education program for Students, Teachers, and Families provided by Con Edison.

Con Edison

Resources for Young Audiences

Join us in the lobby during intermission and/or after the performance for special activities designed to spark creativity, encourage dialogue, and provide lasting memories of the companies presented at the Theater.